Meeting of Deputy Prime Minister Oleg Serebrian with the Ambassadors of the Nordic-Baltic Eight countries



On May 12, 2025, Deputy Prime Minister for Reintegration Oleg Serebrian met with the Ambassadors of the "Northern Baltic Eight" (NB8) countries — Denmark, Finland, Estonia, Iceland, Latvia, Lithuania, Norway, and Sweden — who are on a familiarization visit to the Republic of Moldova.

The current state of the negotiation process for the Transnistrian settlement, the most pressing issues affecting both banks of the Nistru River, Chişinău's priorities in promoting the country's reintegration policies, as well as the measures taken to resolve existing problems were the central themes of the discussions.

The alarming human rights situation in the Transnistrian region was also addressed. Particular emphasis was placed on the urgent need for the immediate and unconditional release of individuals unlawfully detained by the Transnistrian structures, highlighting the seriousness of the violations of their fundamental rights.

At the same time, the elimination of obstacles that hinder the free movement of citizens, refusal to impose illegal payments on farmers in the Dubăsari district, ensuring the operation of schools with teaching in Romanian in proper conditions, etc. were discussed.

Deputy Prime Minister Oleg Serebrian highlighted the efforts of the national authorities in promoting a peaceful and sustainable reintegration process, underlining the importance of the continued support of international partners in this endeavor.

The NB8 officials reiterated their firm support for the sovereignty and territorial integrity of the Republic of Moldova and encouraged the continuation of the dialogue with a view to a peaceful resolution of the conflict.