Voluntary amalgamation in Leova and Fălești districts: New opportunities for investments and better services for citizens



Two groups of administrative-territorial units in the Republic of Moldova have approved decisions regarding voluntary amalgamation. The first group consists of the town of Leova and the villages of Sîrma, Tochile-Răducani and Sărata-Răzeși, while the second group includes the village of Călinești, the commune of Chetriș and the village of Hîncești, Fălești district. The modification of the administrative-territorial organization of the Republic of Moldova has been approved by the government.

The amalgamation will bring more direct investments in local infrastructure - water supply systems, roads, sewage, sanitation - and will increase access to national and European funds for specific projects. Moreover, people will have easier access to public services through one-stop service centers in each locality. The new municipalities will receive both one-off support and annual assistance until 2030 for an efficient transition to the new form of administrative organization.

The voluntary amalgamation of level I administrative-territorial units, supported by the state with a special fund, is advancing nationwide, with 34 out of the 898 municipalities already initiating the voluntary amalgamation procedure.

Voluntary amalgamation is the process by which two or more first-level localities, based on decisions of local councils, merge to form a single larger administrative entity, with the aim of increasing the efficiency and transparency of local governance, improving the public services and enhancing the quality of life for residents.

